Sparkle Elephant

You may or may not know this – but I have another blog  over on www.waterbirthplease.wordpress.com . One of the very few (in fact, I think only) craft posts I put on there proved really popular, so I’ve decided to share it with my lovely new Incy Wincy Followers. If you’ve seen this before then apologies for the repeat – but who doesn’t need Sparkly Elephants in their lives, eh? Here’s the post:

Over the past few days, we have made a “Sparkle Lellephant”. (Her words by the way. )

You Will Need:

  • The top part chopped off a plastic milk carton.
  • Tissue/newspaper and PVA glue for paper mache.
  • Card to make “Lellephant” ears.
  • Whatever takes your fancy to decorate it with. We used paint and sequins, you coud paint using a different colour scheme, use collage, felt tips, stickers, googley eyes – owt ya like really 🙂

That’s only FOUR bullet points people! Count them!

So – cover your cut off milk carton with paper mache (you don’t even have to do this if you don’t have time/inclination. I found it kept us busy for ages, rounded off the sharper bottom edges, and I personally like the look of it. If you decide to leave it plain plastic and want to paint it – mix PVA glue in with your poster paint. It’ll stick better.)

Leave it to dry and then glue/tape on some ears. OOOooooooh – looking more “Lellephanty” now!

Now let rip with the paints/glitter/stickers . . . whatever! Little Miss Spider painted it herself . . . 

  . . . along with most of her face, arm and table, in the end. I then helped her with where to put the glue (and couldn’t resist a few extra touches myself – eyes, bindy and earrings) and she happily shovelled on armfuls of sequins and glitter.

I have glue in my hair, glitter in my eye, sparkly bits in all kinds of unmentionable places, and a living room carpet like a Bollywood film set – but I think our “Sparkle Lellephant” is well worth it.

Might use different sized cartons next and make a little family. Awwwwwwww

Leave a Reply

